Time for some comments on the manga and anime I've been looking at this past year.
For a long time, I've been trying to find an English translation of From up on Poppy Hill. And I finally found it. I knew it wouldn't be as good as the movie. but it was pretty flat. It was all the same shoujo manga I've seen before.
I watched the Basara anime many years ago, and I don't really remember it. But I've been enjoying the manga. I liked the concept of someone pretending to be the chosen one, to protect her people. I was a little disappointed (spoilers) that she really was the actual chosen one, but I'm invested enough now to want to continue reading. I may go back and try the anime again.
My Hero Academia is finally over. Honestly, the only reason I finished the manga is because it's one of the only popular ones I was following, and I wanted to recognize references when I go to Fanime, or something. I stopped being excited about it a while ago. Part of that is because they do something that's really disgusting - making a pervert character who's supposed to be funny.
I watched the first couple seasons of Spy x Family. I'm not sure what to make of it yet. It's supposed to be funny, but I can't help thinking of how traumatized this little girl will be from her childhood.
I finished Barefoot Gen. Wow, that was probably the heaviest manga I've ever read. It's definitely worth reading, because it is based on real events. The author survived the atomic bomb in Hiroshima. Other parts of the manga are from other survivors.
I kept reading Shaman King, though I'm not sure why. It stopped very abruptly, in the middle of the ending arc. I think it has since been completed, but I don't care enough to find it. It was interesting at first, but ended up baffling. Like when one character nearly killed another, just so he could cut him open and examine his insides. And then the others tell the character that survived to suck it up and deal with it, so the almost-murderer can be on their team. Yeesh. There were a lot of things that made me go "why?"
I read Cardcaptor Sakura Clear Card. It was nostalgic. But the story style no longer interests me. I think nostalgia is why I appreciate the first two Cardcaptor series. There were some cool new card designs though.
And I've been watching the new Kenshin anime! I'm so glad they're redoing it without all the useless filler.
There are a few manga I tried, but gave up on after a few chapters. I won't bother to mention them.
No comments:
Post a Comment